New Zealand theatre reviews, performace reviews and performing arts directory

Follow Theatreview
Follow Theatreview on Twitter

20 Nov 2012
Print Version


Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards 2012
A Grand Celebration of Wellington Professional Theatre

Sunday 9th December, 7pm
Paramount Theatre, 25 Courtenay Place

The Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards 2012 are proud to celebrate 2012's exciting, engaging and highly entertaining year of professional theatre in the cultural capital with a jubilant award ceremony at the Paramount Theatre, Sunday 9th December.

Five of Wellington's hard-working theatre critics have narrowed down the year's best and brightest theatre shows from over 100 eligible productions to nominees in each of the 19 award categories. The Critics WILDCARD Award and the Mayoral Award for Significant Contribution to Theatre will announced on the night.

The (alphabetically listed) Nominees for 2012 are:

The Downstage Theatre Most Original Production of the Year
Into the Uncanny Valley – Lumina Productions
One Day Moko – Portable Union
Paper Sky – Red Leap Theatre

Circa Award donated by Tact for the Most Promising Male Newcomer of the Year
Emmett Skilton – Paper Sky
Tim Carlsen – One Day Moko
Tola Newbury – The Prospect

The Emerging Artist Trust Wellington Most Promising Female Newcomer of the Year
Hayley Sproull – Miss Fletcher Sings the Blues
Moana Ete – The Prospect
Victoria Abbott – West End Girls

Toi Whakaari: New Zealand Drama School and Victoria University of Wellington Most Promising New Director of the Year
Melanie Camp – Immaculate
Regan Taylor – Manawa
Tammy Davis – The Prospect 

Brancott Estate Award for Costume Designer of the Year
Jane Boocock – West End Girls
Sheila Horton – Peninsula
Shona Tawhiao – The Māori Troilus and Cressida – Toroihi Rāua Ko Kāhira

Grouse Lighting Award for Lighting Designer of the Year 
Jennifer Lal – Into the Uncanny Valley 
Laurie Dean – The Mourning After 
Lisa Maule – Michael James Manaia 

Weta Workshop Award for Set Designer of the Year 
Andrew Foster – West End Girls 
Daniel Williams – The Tigers of Wrath 
John Verryt – Paper Sky 

Park Road Post Production Award for Sound Designer of the Year 
Chris Ward – Peninsula 
Karnan Saba – The Prospect 
Paddy Bleakley, Buster Flaws, Laura Dunkley – Into the Uncanny Valley 

Constance Scott Kirkcaldie Award for Outstanding Composer of Music 
Claire Cowan – The Keepers 
Gareth Hobbs – Chekhov in Hell 
Laughton Pattrick – Around the World and Buck Again 

Peter Harcourt Award for Outstanding New Playwright of the Year Sponsored by BATS Theatre and Taki Rua Productions
Joseph Harper – Tiny Spectacle / Shitty Lyricism
Maraea Rakuraku – The Prospect
Tim Carlsen – One Day Moko 

The Playmarket and Capital E – National Theatre for Children Award for the New Zealand Play of the Year  
Manawa – Jamie McCaskill 
Peninsula – Gary Henderson 
The Prospect – Maraea Rakuraku 

The Absolutely Positively Award for the Supporting Actress of the Year 
Juanita Hepi – The Māori Troilus and Cressida – Toroihi Rāua Ko Kāhira
Michele Amas – Peninsula 
Nancy Brunning – Clybourne Park 

Whitireia Performing Arts and Chapman Tripp Award for the Supporting Actor of the Year 
Gavin Rutherford – West End Girls 
Rāwiri Paratene – The Māori Troilus and Cressida – Toroihi Rāua Ko Kāhira 
Rob Lloyd – The Prospect 

Seven Nominees for these four categories:
The Chapman Tripp Award for an Outstanding Performance  
The Chapman Tripp Award for an Outstanding Performance  
The Chapman Tripp Award for Actress of the Year
The ProActors and eCaster Award for Actor of the Year
Elena Stejko – A Shortcut to Happiness
Jamie McCaskill – Manawa
Jason Whyte – Peninsula
Richard Dey – All My Sons
Te Kohe Tuhaka – Michael James Manaia
Tom Monckton – Moving Stationery
Yvette Parsons – Silent Night 

The Museum Hotel Award for Director of the Year 
David O'Donnell – West End Girls 
Jane Waddell – Peninsula 
Rachel House – The Māori Troilus and Cressida – Toroihi Rāua Ko Kāhira 

The Chapman Award for the Production of the Year 
All My Sons – Circa Theatre
Peninsula – Circa Theatre
The Māori Troilus and Cressida – Toroihi Rāua Ko Kāhira – Ngākau Toa 

We welcome the Wellington theatre community; the greater NZ theatre whanau and all its avid supporters to attend the Award Ceremony for 2012.

7pm, Sunday 9th December

VENUE: Paramount Theatre, 25 Courtenay Place
BOOKINGS: Downstage Theatre – 04 801 6946 or
*$2 transaction fee applies to online bookings. 

A forum is currently running in the above nominations - here