New Zealand theatre reviews, performace reviews and performing arts directory

Follow Theatreview
Follow Theatreview on Twitter


Choreography by: George Balanchine, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Garry Stewart, Claire O’Neil, Parrish Maynard, Loughlan Prior and Mia Mason

[90 mins]

at Te Whaea National Dance and Drama Centre, 11 Hutchison Rd, Newtown, Wellington
From 21 Nov 2012 to 1 Dec 2012

Reviewed by:  Greer Robertson;

Young dancers of extraordinary talent from the New Zealand School of Dance present the best of classical ballet and contemporary dance in one outstanding performance

Featuring choreography not often seen in New Zealand by renowned masters George Balanchine, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Garry Stewart. The programme also includes works by Claire O'Neill, American choreographer Parrish Maynard and New Zealand School of Dance graduates Loughlan Prior and Mia Mason, embodying the essence of the school's legacy in its 45th anniversary year.

This uplifting performance highlights students of the New Zealand School of Dance, poised to enter the dance profession and take the stage with dance companies throughout the world.

Performances 21 November - 1 December at 7.30pm (except Sunday and Monday)

2pm Matinee Sunday 25 November

$26 Adults
$21 Students & Seniors
$16 Under 12 years



Music: Mikhail Glinka - Valse-Fantaisie in B Minor

Choreography:  George Balanchine ©The George Balanchine Trust

Staged by: Diana White

Rehearsal director: Janet Tait

World premiere: 23 November 1967, New York City Ballet, New York State Theater, New York, USA

NZSD premiere: 2 October 2000, Bruce Mason Centre, Takapuna, Auckland


Music: Claude Debussy

Choreography: Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

Staged by: James O'Hara

Rehearsal director: Paula Steeds-Huston

World premiere: 13 October 2009, Sadler's Wells

NZSD premiere: 21 November 2012, Te Whaea Theatre


Music: Speedy J, Autechre, Pan sonic, Atrax Morgue, Bask, Tchaikovsky.

Choreography: Garry Stewart

Staged by: Craig Bary

Rehearsal director: Paula Steeds-Huston and Victoria Colombus

World premiere: 27 June 2001, Australian Dance Theatre, Dunstan Playhouse, Adelaide

NZSD premiere: 21 November 2012, Te Whaea Theatre (excerpts only)


Music: Chick Webb & His Orchestra - Clap Hands! Here Comes Charlie!, Luigi Russolo, Antonio Russolo – Corale, TV on the Radio – Blind, Radio Boy - Macdonalds, Tom Jones - It's Not Unusual

Choreography: Claire O'Neill

Rehearsal director: Claire O'Neil

Costume Design: Donna Jefferis

World premiere: 21 November 2012, Te Whaea Theatre


Music: Antonio Martin Y Coll - Diferencias sobre las Folias

Choreography: Loughlan Prior

Costume design: Loughlan Prior

Costume construction: Gaye Wards

World premiere: 21 November 2012, Te Whaea Theatre


Music: David Long – Observing Gunther

Choreography: Mia Mason

Staged by: Sarah Foster-Sproull and Alex Leonhartsberger

Rehearsal director: Victoria Colombus

World premiere: 5 October 2011, Q Theatre, Auckland

NZSD premiere: 21 November 2012, Te Whaea Theatre


Music: Kenneth Kirschner - March 3, 1993

Choreography: Parrish Maynard

Staged by: Parrish Maynard

Rehearsal director: Edmund Stripe

World premiere: 9 October 2008, San Francisco Ballet School, Golden Gate Park Stage, San Francisco

NZSD premiere: 21 November 2012, Te Whaea Theatre


Music : Ben Frost - By The Throat, Arvo Pärt - Spiegel im Spiegel

Choreography: Ivica Novakovic with research by Julian Pfahl

Rehearsal director: Paula Steeds-Huston

Costume Design: Donna Jefferis

World premiere: 21 November 2012, Te Whaea Theatre


Music: Sergei Prokofiev – Symphony No.1, Opus 25

Choreography: Edmund Stripe

Costume design: Donna Jefferis

 World premiere: 14 December 1993, Singapore Dance Theatre, Esplanade Theatre, Singapore

NZSD premiere: 21 November 2012, Te Whaea Theatre



Third Year: Katherine Baring-Gould, Brydie Colquhoun, Emma Dellabarca, Eloise Golledge, Samantha Hines, Simone Lapka, Jia Xi Lee, Sarah Linden, Andrew Miller, Jessica Naunton, Benjamin Obst, Gareth Okan, Tiffany Pellow, Luis Piva Junior, Mitchell Powell, Travis Robertson, Matthew Roffe, Francesca Sampson, Andrew Searle, Pamela Sidhu, Dylan Waddell 

Second Year: Ruth Austin, Riley Baldwin, Camillo Baracco, Olivia Berrell, Katie Burley, Chloe Einicke, Alexandra Ford, Sarah Gatzonis, Michael Gudgeon, Oscar Hoelscher, Laura Jones, Fleur Lovejoy, Paige Macliver, Emma Martin, Hollie Mason, Napat Mathinanon, Samantha Nelson, Lana Phillips, Charles Riddiford, Katie Rudd, Imogen Sorley

First Year: Hannah Askew, Sam Balson, Jack Bannerman, Jeremy Beck, Eddie Brunton, Jessica Burt, Jadyn Burt, Lauren Byrne, Lauren Ellis, Stephanie Fernandez, William Fitzgerald, Omea Geary, Jemma Grenfell, Tessa Hall, Roymata Holmes, Jesse Homes, Tyler Johnston, Po Yi Low, Jarrah McArthur, Imogen McGill, Amanda Mitrevski, Stefaan Morrow, Madeleine Powell, Michael Ramsay, Eliza Sanders, Paige Shand, Brooke Tytherleigh, Samantha Vottari, Shai Waitford, James Wasmer, Isabella Wilson, Tynan Wood, Elizabeth Zorino


Production & Stage Manager: Jenny Petrovich

Lighting Design: Paul O'Brien

Lighting Operation: Wendy Clease

Wardrobe: Donna Jefferis (Supervisor), Jane Boocock (Construction)

Marketing and Publicity: Celia Jenkins and Ceridwyn Roberts

Photography: Stephen A'Court