New Zealand theatre reviews, performace reviews and performing arts directory



FOOTNOTE FORTE SERIES 2013 - WE HAVE BEEN THERE


Choreographer: Lisa Densem
Composer: Andrew Thomas
Dancers: Lucy Marinkovich, Manu Reynaud, Emily Adams, Olivia McGregor, Levi Cameron and Alice Macann

at Opera House, Wellington
From 6 Mar 2013 to 7 Mar 2013

Allen Hall Theatre, University of Otago, Dunedin
From 19 Mar 2013 to 20 Mar 2013

Q Theatre, 305 Queen St, Auckland
From 27 Mar 2013 to 28 Mar 2013

Suter Theatre, Nelson
From 15 Apr 2013 to 16 Apr 2013



Reviewed by:  Sam TrubridgeAnn Hunt (Dominion Post); Hannah MolloyJenny StevensonJanet WhittingtonBernadette Rae (NZ Herald);

Footnote Dance presents Footnote Forte 2013 – We have been there (Cloud In Hand) – a newly commissioned work by Lisa Densem, with music by Andrew Thomas.

"This particular homecoming has been some years in the planning, and it is wonderful to bring Lisa home. She is a very special New Zealander and has made her name so far away." - Deirdre Tarrant

Footnote Forte is an initiative to bring outstanding Kiwi dance artists home to make work here in New Zealand and to bring their artistic voice to our stages and dances.

In keeping with this tradition, Footnote Dance is commissioning Berlin based choreographer and past Footnote dancer, Lisa Densem. Footnote joined Densem in October at the Ufer Studios in Berlin to develop a new Forte work to tour early 2013.

Densem has worked extensively with Sasha Waltz & Guests, one of Germany's most successful companies, touring the globe with up to 80 performances a year! Her new work for Footnote is a choreography of discovery. Densem is using techniques that explore the body in context with the surrounding space and searching for moments that emerge from this exploration. 

"Sometimes it seems as if a dance is already there, inscribed into the air of a room or a space. We need only do what is there, and what is done has to be done in exactly that way and in that particular place." - Lisa Densem

Bookings:

FOOTNOTE FORTE 2013 - We have been there (Cloud in Hand) - Wellington - The Opera House - 06 - 07/03/2013

FOOTNOTE FORTE 2013 - We have been there (Cloud in Hand) - Dunedin Fringe Festival - Allen Hall - 8pm - 19 - 20/03/2013

FOOTNOTE FORTE 2013 - We have been there (Cloud in Hand) - AUCKLAND - Q theatre - 27 - 28/03/2013

FOOTNOTE FORTE 2013 - We have been there (Cloud in Hand) - NELSON - The Suter Theatre - 15 - 16/04/2013