New Zealand theatre reviews, performace reviews and performing arts directory



THE ALMANAC EXPERIMENT


Directed/Written by Mark Scott

[1 hr]

at Fringe Bar, Cnr Cuba & Vivian, Wellington
From 28 Feb 2013 to 2 Mar 2013

The Classic Studio, Auckland
From 6 Mar 2013 to 9 Feb 2013



Reviewed by:  Nancy Catherine FulfordNaomi Cohen;

AN OLD SCHOOL GUIDE TO FUTURE SURVIVAL  

Auckland comedian Mark Scott's the ALMANAC experiment” debuts in the Wellington Fringe Festival 28th Feb – 2nd March 2013 at Fringe Bar, then the Auckland Fringe Festival 6-9th March 2013 at The Classic Studio.

Multi award winning stand up and improv comedian Mark Scott (aka DIY John and Improv Bandit) has created a new hour of anti-doomsday fun.

His live “domestic survival” show offers some wicked old school tips on how to survive a modern life with its ever increasing stress levels.

Mark says, “it all started when I was a child and my father gave me a ‘how to' book called an Almanac. It was full of all sorts of seemingly unrelated things. Page seven was how the universe began and page eight was how to run an egg and spoon race. Page nine was probably how to tie a Windsor knot or survive a hurricane. I didn't know what dad's giving me this random book meant, but I knew it was important. Only recently did I realize that my wise father, having witnessed the randomness of life, had gifted me this Almanac to prepare me mentally for every eventuality.”

Growing up in the farming community of Putaruru and enduring numerous family camping trips with homemade tents, bamboo fishing rods and wet matches, Mark was given plenty of opportunity to put some of his newly acquired knowledge to the test.

Paying it forward, Mark Scott is now excited to mentor your future at your own risk in this newest stand up offering, “the ALMANAC experiment”.

The show is perfectly pitched at the studio stage of The Classic Comedy Club, NZ's only dedicated comedy venue. It will be fully primed for Auckland audiences, following immediately on from a debut season in Wellington.

Mark has been invited to perform around 60 fringe festivals world wide along with three televised Comedy Festival Galas.

Don't miss this uniquely hilarious, touching and charming new show before it disappears across the globe in it's journey to a string of Canadian festivals.

Wellington Fringe runs from 15 February to 9 March 2013. For more Fringe information go to http://www.fringe.co.nz/

Auckland Fringe runs from 15 February to 10 March 2013. For more Auckland Fringe information go to www.aucklandfringe.co.nz  

the ALMANAC experiment plays

WELLINGTON
Thu 28th Feb – Sat 2nd March @ 10pm
Fringe Bar, Cnr Cuba & Vivien Streets, Wellington CBD
Duration: 1 hour
Tickets: Full $18, Concession $14 *service fee may apply
Cash only door sales

AUCKLAND
Wed 6th – Sat 9th March @ 8:30 pm
Classic Studio, 321 Queen Street, Auckland CBD
Duration: 1 hour
Tickets: Full $20, Concession $15 *service fee may apply
Bookings: 09) 373 4321 Website: http://www.comedy.co.nz/