New Zealand theatre reviews, performace reviews and performing arts directory



PARTY WITH THE AUNTIES





Photo by Tim Elkington
Photo by Tim Elkington
Devised with the cast
Director Erina Daniels
Produced by Rachel Callinan and Julia Truscott

[1 hr 15 mins, no interval]

at The Garage at 93 Wellington Road, Paekakariki
From 9 Apr 2011 to 15 Apr 2011

Miramar Rangers AFC Clubrooms, Wellington
From 23 Nov 2011 to 27 Nov 2011

Function Room, Denbigh Hotel, Feilding
From 14 Jun 2012 to 16 Jun 2012

Jaycee Room, Founders Park, Nelson
From 16 Oct 2012 to 18 Oct 2012

Brew Café and Restaurant Bar, 700 Pollen Street, Brian Boru Hotel, Thames
From 21 Nov 2012 to 22 Nov 2012

Paeroa RSA, Paeroa
23 Nov 2012

Mayfair Festival Club, 67-73 Devon St West, New Plymouth
From 15 Aug 2013 to 17 Aug 2013

CHRISTCHURCH FOOTBALL CLUB, Christchurch
From 12 Sep 2013 to 15 Sep 2013



Reviewed by:  Sunny AmeyJohn SmytheLaurie Atkinson (The Dominion Post); Richard MaysGail TresidderNgaire RileyErin Harrington;

It's been a long week at work. Get the cuzzies together, grab some beers, bring the gat – there's a party at Aunty's!

Party with the Aunties is a show that will be held in a Paekakariki garage from April 9th to 15th. The show is based on parties that Director Erina Daniels has had with her family and the songs that have been sung at them.

“A party with our family is a chance for us to get together and enjoy being us. We can enjoy each other's humour and enjoy testing our tendencies on one another – come what may.” Erina says.

Party with the Aunties is a show that is set at a party, about a party and may even look and feel like a party, but it's not JUST a party! The audience is invited to sing along to songs such as Saturday Night at the Movies and Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Old Oak Tree. We will meet Te Manawa as he introduces his new girlfriend to his family at his Father's 50th birthday party. The three actors each play multiple characters bringing to life aunties, uncles, cousins and work-mates.

Party with the Aunties is a show about and for work-hard, play-hard people. “I'm making this show for the people in my life who continue to inspire me to enjoy. I want to remind myself of a way to be, a way that involves cheeky humour, consideration and a certain amount of pragmatism!” says Daniels.

This is Daniels' final project as part of her Master's in Theatre Arts – a course jointly taught by Victoria University and Te Kura o Toi Whakaari: The New Zealand Drama School. For the show she has harnessed a powerful and hearty cast and crew. 

The show features the talent of actors Jamie McCaskill, Matariki Whatarau and Cian White. All three of these players have toured to our national theatre festivals with the show He Reo Aroha co-written by McCaskill and Miria George. Jamie also appears as guitarist and vocalist in his band Smokey Feel. Matariki recently played in the show Crossing Lines by the Southern Corridor Project, and will appear in Taki Rua's production of Awhi Tapu later this year. Cian White was last seen and heard by Wellington audiences in the Capital E show Hear to See as a puppeteer, singer and actor. 

The play is produced by local Kapiti Coast women Rachel Callinan who produced the music/theatre experience Porcelain Toy in this year's Fringe Festival and Julia Truscott whose last show Quarantine played on Matiu/Somes Island. 

Why have this show in a garage? Daniels says she wants to make a piece of theatre for people who don't usually go to the theatre. Making a show in a garage means it can easily go to communities anywhere. “Above all I want this show to remind us of our families and of feeling powerful and of enjoying. I know that my experience of Paekakariki has always had these three effects on me so it makes sense to make a show here”.

The Garage at 93 Wellington Road, Paekakariki
Saturday 9th April, Tuesday 12th – Friday 15th April, 7.30pm.
Tickets $15 on sale at Paekakariki Organic Fruit and Vege or email partywiththeaunties@gmail.com or ring Julia Truscott on 04 292 8667.  

Miramar Rangers AFC Clubrooms
David Farrington Park, corner Weka St and Miramar North Road
23 – 27 November
Wed-Sat at 7.30pm, Sun 4pm.  

2012 tour:

A show for adults but children friendly

The Brew, Thames
Fri 1st and Sat 2nd June at 7.30pm
Sun 3rd June at 4pm
Tickets $25 + dinner $40
8685558 or book at tikapa.productions@gmail.com
Door sales available

Function Room, Denbigh Hotel, 50 Manchester Street, Feilding
Thursday 14 - Saturday 16 June, 7.30pm
Tickets: $20 
Book: tepuanga@gmail.com or 021 854 929  

Nelson Arts Festival 2012 
Jaycee Room, Founders Park 
16 - 18 October, 7pm

COROMANDEL White Ribbon Season   

In association with Te Whariki Manawahine O Hauraki (Hauraki Women's Refuge and Whanau Support Services)

Thames
Wednesday 21 & Thursday 22 November, 7.30pm
Brew Café and Restaurant Bar, 700 Pollen Street, Brian Boru Hotel.

Turua
Friday 23 November, 7.30pm
The Muddy River Café
459 Hauraki Road, Turua

Thames
Saturday 24 November, 7.30pm & Sunday 25 November, 2.30pm
Thames Workingmen's Club, 407 Cochrane Street, Thames

Book at Hauraki Women's Refuge ph 07 8688475 or 022 1653 296
or partywiththeaunties@gmail.com

2013

Taranaki Arts Festival
15-17 August, 7pm
Mayfair Festival Club

Christchurch Arts Festival
CHRISTCHURCH FOOTBALL CLUB
Thurs 12 - Sat 14 Sept, 6.30pm
Sun 15 Sept, 3pm 



/collaborators: 

Erina Daniels: Director 

Cian White: Actor, Devisor, SingerLady, Story Collaborator 

Jamie McCaskill: Actor, Devisor, GuitarMan, Story Collaborator

Matariki Whatarau: Actor, Devisor, MainMan, Story Collaborator

Jess Sanderson: Design

Maria Deere: Production Mentor 

Julia Truscott: Publicity, Marketing and Production Assistant 

Rachel Callinan: Production Assistant, Stage Management   

2012 tour: 
Starring Jamie McCaskill, Matariki Whatarau and Kura Forrester 
Directed by Erina Daniels

2013 Festivals
Starring Jamie McCaskill, Matariki Whatarau and Awhina Rose
Directed by Erina Daniels