December 8, 2008

held at Wellington Town Hall, Sunday 7 December 2008 
‘A Grand Celebration of Wellington’s Professional Theatre’

It’s been a standout year for Wellington’s independent theatre with Mr. Marmalade, a play by young American playwright Noah Haidle and performed at BATS Theatre, scooping the prestigious Chapman Tripp Award for Production of the Year, Most Promising Newcomer with lead actress Brooke Williams and Most Promising New Director with Sophie Roberts.  This quirky and caustic portrayal of a four-year old and her deviant imaginary friend was part of diverse range of winners within a year of equally diverse and outstanding theatre.

An Emperor penguin won Actor of the Year, in the shape-shifting skills of Brian Hotter in the play Heat, by Lynda Chanwai-Earle.  Actress of the Year Ali Harper also shape-shifted six characters in the solo show Bombshells

The Mayor’s Award for Significant Contribution to the Theatre was presented to Sunny Amey, theatre director and educator, acknowledging her involvement and promotion of Māori theatre and her work with Downstage Theatre.

The awards, founded by Chapman Tripp in 1992, celebrate and recognise the unique creative talent that we have in our city. The Award winners are selected from over 90 professional productions performed in Wellington theatres by a panel of Theatre Critics: Laurie Atkinson  – The Dominion Post,  Helen Sims – Lumiere Reader, John Smythe – Theatreview, Lynn Freeman – Capital Times and Jackson Coe – Salient

For the full list of nominees, click here

The award categories and winners are as follows:

Montana Award for Most Original Production of the Year
Apollo 13 : Mission Control – HACKMAN and BATS Theatre

Downstage Theatre Award for the Most Promising Male Newcomer of the Year
Arthur Meek – On the Conditions and Possibilities of Helen Clark Taking Me as Her Young Lover

Circa Award donated by TACT for the Most Promising Female Newcomer of the Year
Brooke Williams – Mr. Marmalade 

Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School and Victoria University of Wellington Award for the Most Promising New Director of the Year
Sophie Roberts – Mr. Marmalade 

The Dominion Post Award for Costume Designer of the Year 
Kathyrn Tyree – The Kreutzer 

Theatrelight Award for Lighting Designer of the Year
Lisa Maule – The American Pilot 

Weta Workshop Award for Set Designer of the Year
Daniel Williams – The Little Dog Laughed 

Western Audio Engineering Award for Sound Designer of the Year
Gareth Ruck – Apollo 13 : Mission Control 

Constance Scott Kirkcaldie Award for Outstanding Composer of Music
Jonathan Crayford – Adagio 

Peter Harcourt Award for Outstanding New Playwright of the Year Sponsored by BATS Theatre and Taki Rua Productions
Eli Kent – Rubber Turkey 

Orbit Corporate Travel Award for Supporting Actress of the Year
Michele Amas/Jane Waddell – Mammals 

Chapman Tripp Award for Supporting Actor of the Year
Felix Preval – Sensible Susan and the Queen’s Merkin; A Morality Play

The Absolutely Positively Outstanding New New Zealand Play of the Year
Where We Once Belonged – adapted by Dave Armstrong from the novel by Sia Figiel 

The winner of the Mayor’s Award for Significant Contribution to the Theatre
Sunny Amey

EAT Wellington Accolade for Outstanding Performance
Kip Chapman – The Little Dog Laughed 

Grouse Lighting Accolade for Outstanding Performance
Simon Vincent – Metamorphosis 

Chapman Tripp Award for Actress of the Year
Ali Harper – Bombshells

Gail Cowan Management Award for Actor of the Year
Brian Hotter – Heat 

The Museum Hotel Award for Director of the Year
Tim Spite – Paua 

Chapman Tripp Award for Production of the Year
Mr. Marmalade – The Moving Theatre Company

Share on social