April 4, 2011


The Adam New Zealand Play Award recognises and celebrates the best in new writing for the theatre. The annual award, now in its fourth year, is the only one of its kind for new writing and encourages writers to banish all self censoring, all worries about what theatres want, what is affordable and what they think audiences want to see. This freedom has been the impetus for many writers’ best work.

This year the competition had 56 entries that were assessed by five judges.

Playmarket is happy to announce that the shortlisted plays and playwrights for 2011 are:

The Cup by Dan Cleary
The Third Age by Jennifer Compton
Tough’s Haulage by Justin Eade
Self Defence by Denis Edwards
Angelo, Solly, the Nona and the Gallows by Denis Edwards
E ono tama’i pato by Maureen Fepulea’i
Rona and Rabbit on the Moon by Whiti Hereaka
Fool’s Paradise by Margot McRae
Rushing Dolls by Courtney Meredith
Problems by Joe Musaphia
Hero by Arun Subramaniam
Sliderhands by Georgina Titheridge

The Award winner will be announced at Wellington’s Circa Theatre on Saturday 9 April at 2pm, followed by a rehearsed reading of the winning play.

The event is open to the public and Playmarket encourages all to come see and support the best new writing emerging from Aotearoa and the writers whose vision and skill lead this work.

To secure a seat, please contact: aneta@playmarket.org.nz  

As well as the major award, Playmarket will be announcing winners in the categories of Best Play by a Maori Playwright, Best Play by a Pasifika Playwright, Best Play by a Woman Playwright and the Pumphouse Theatre Prize for an Auckland Playwright.

Thanks to the generosity of the Adam Foundation the winner will receive a cash prize of $5000, with the category winners each receiving $1000.

PLAYMARKET is very grateful for the generosity and support of The Adam Foundation, The Pumphouse Theatre, The Play Press, Circa Theatre, Huia Publishers and our major funders: ASB Community Trust and Creative New Zealand. 

Share on social