December 5, 2012


presented by PLanDevents
celebrating theatrical excellence 

And the Nominees are… 

PLanDevents is thrilled to announce the nominations for the 2012 Dunedin Theatre Awards. These are chosen by our Panel who have been roaming around the creative talent of Dunedin and taking note of who’s been good and who’s been naughty.

This year marks the introduction of some remarkable technology, called 1000Minds, into the process. Developed by Associate Professor, and sometime surfer, Paul Hansen at Otago University’s Economics Department, 1000Minds is a decision making online programme that is in use by a wide variety of multinational companies worldwide. “This is a test case and applying the software in the arts is new territory. But, decisions are the same, whether in the sciences or in the arts. It’s the same as any decision. It’s about the criteria, the weight and the alternatives” said Dr Hansen. It means that the process is easy to use, solidifies the criteria for each category and it’s transparent (see for details).

This is an exciting step closer to what promises to be a spectacular night at the Mayfair Theatre on Monday, 10th December. The Mayfair’s doors open at 6.45pm, entry is a mere $5 with more bargains inside at the cash bar! So get ready for a wild night in the soft hands of Mark Neilson as we celebrate Dunedin’s excellence!

Technical Designer of Year

Brent Cowles & John Collier:  AV Design, Jesus Christ Superstar, Taieri Musical Society

Callum Jamieson:  Light Design, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Musical Theatre Dunedin

Glen Ruske:  Sound Design, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Musical Theatre Dunedin

James Caley & George Wallace:  Light Design, BARE, Counterpoint

Stephen Kilroy:  Light Design, Play, Fortune Theatre

Scenographic Designer of the Year

Brenda Rendell:  Costume Design, The Marriage of Figaro, Opera Otago

Hannah Kidd:  Set Design, Play, Fortune Theatre

Maryanne Wright-Smyth
Costume Design, In The Next Room, Fortune Theatre

Sharon Matthews:  Costume Design, Cabaret Botanica, Talking House

Promotion of the Year

Angus McBryde & Hadley R. Taylor:  BARE, Counterpoint

Caitlin McNaughton:  Late Night Improv: Man Walks into a Bar, Improsaurus

Inge Andrew:  Cabaret Botanica, Talking House

Visiting Production of the Year

Richard Meros Salutes the Southern Man:  Conditional Productions

Rita & Douglas:  Armstrong Creative

The Fickle Finger of Fate:  The Kallo Collective

Narrative / Script of the Year

Ella West:  The Middlemarch Singles Ball

Jonothon Cweorth:  Sex/Death/Magic

Nigel Ensor:  Winkie

Sandra Muller & Kaitrin McMullen et. al:  Cab Sav 2: Nostalgia & The Art of Longing

Male Performer of the Year

Kawiti Jack Waetford:  The Marriage of Figaro, Opera Otago

John Bach:  Red, Fortune Theatre

Simon O’Connor:  Heroes, Fortune Theatre

Female Performer of the Year

Barbara Power:  Play, Fortune Theatre

Elizabeth Adams:  Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Musical Theatre Dunedin

Hilary Halba:  Play, Fortune Theatre

Karen Elliot:  China Wars, Stage South

Director of the Year

John Drummond:  The Marriage of Figaro, Opera Otago

Lara Macgregor:  Play, Fortune Theatre

Patrick Davies:  Two Fish ‘n’ a Scoop, Fortune Theatre

Production of the Year

Calendar Girls:  Fortune Theatre

In The Next Room:  Fortune Theatre

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat:  Musical Theatre Dunedin

Play:  Fortune Theatre

The Marriage of Figaro:  Opera Otago

This year we have been flooded with nominations for the Special Awards. The winners of the Emerging Talent, Life Time Achievement, Outstanding Contribution to Dunedin Theatre and Outstanding Industry Support awards will remain a secret until the night!

We look forward to seeing you there! 

Patrick Davies & Hadley R. Taylor
for PLanDevents 

Check us out at   

Congratulations to all the nominees and best of luck for the Awards!

Share on social