December 12, 2012

a celebration of creative excellence  
presented by PLanDevents  

A fabulous night was had by all with a packed house at the magnificent Mayfair Theatre. There was suitable in held breath as the nominations were read out and a rousing cheering and throwing of hats at each announcement; an incredibly warm reception for each of the Special Awards and the revelation of the Lifetime Achievements were met with appreciative murmurs that the Panel were spot on.

Each letter-to-the-editor making year has it’s surprises and this year was no exception with the announcement that Louise Petherbridge was awarded the title of Living Treasure for her exceptional career here and overseas.

And here they are – the results …

Promotion of the Year
Inge Andrewes, Cabaret Botanica, (Talking House)

Script/Narrative of the Year
Jonathan Cweorth, Death*Sex*Magic, (Dunedin Medieval and Renaissance Society) 

Visiting Production of the Year
Richard Meros Salutes the Southern Man, (Conditional Productions)

Scenographical Designer of the Year
Hannah Kidd, Play, (Fortune Theatre)

Technical Designer of the Year 
Stephen Kilory, Play, (Fortune Theatre)

Male Performance of the Year 
Simon O’Connor, Heroes, (Fortune Theatre)

Female Performance of the Year
Hilary Halba, Play, (Fortune Theatre)

Director of the Year
Lara Macgregor, Play, (Fortune Theatre

Production of the Year
Play, Fortune Theatre


Outstanding Industry Support 
Bill Noble and UBS (University Book Shop)

Emerging Artists
Grace Park
Alex Wilson

Outstanding Contribution to Dunedin Theatre
Michael Andrewe and The Really Authentic Gilbert & Sullivan Performance Trust

Lifetime Achievement
Shirley Kelly 
Mary Dixon 
Denise Walsh 
Louise Petherbridge

A huge thanks from PLanDevents and we’ll see you next year!!

Patrick Davies

Check us out at  

Share on social