November 27, 2013


Celebrating a golden age of theatre!

Wellington was host to the Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards last night (15 December) at the Paramount Cinema – to celebrate Wellington’s diverse, adventurous, brave, definitely NOT dying theatre community with awards honouring the best of 2013’s performances and craft.

The evening was MC’d by the talented Hayley Sproull, who also went on to win Best Female Newcomer for her Comedy Festival show Outsiders’ Guide.

The big winners on the night were Trick of the Light Theatre’s The Road That Wasn’t There, which won Best New Director; Hannah Smith, Outstanding New New Zealand Play; Ralph Mc-Cubbin Howell and Production of the Year.

The Mayor’s Award for Significant Contribution to Theatre was awarded by Mayor Celia Wade-Brown to Playmarket, for 40 years dedication, passion, altruism, longevity and hard work in the arts. Playmarket provides development, support and representation of New Zealand playwrights. Founding members Robert Lord, Nonnita Rees, Judy Russell and Ian Fraser we honoured on behalf of this world-renowned kiwi institution.

The Critics Wildcard Award went to 13 year old theatre company The Bacchanals as an Ensemble Award for guts, determination, Kiwi ingenuity and inspired profligacy with zero budget.

Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards wishes to sincerely thank our sponsors for making this special evening possible: Chapman Tripp, Wellington City Council, Circa Theatre, BATS Theatre, Taki Rua, Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School, Victoria University, Constance Scott Kirkcaldie, Emerging Artist Trust, Whitireia Performing Arts, Grouse Lighting, WETA Workshop, Park Road Post Productions, The Mayor Celia Wade-Brown, Playmarket, Capital E National Theatre for Children, Watson-McKenzie Photography, Brancott Estate, ProActors, eCaster, Museum Hotel, Multi Media Systems, Marmalade Audio, Paramount Theatre, The Improvisors, The Dominion Post and the hard working critics panel.

Nominees are listed alphabetically; the winners are in red.

The Critics Wildcard
The Bacchanals

Circa Award Donated by TACT
Most Promising Male Newcomer 

Chris Parker – Outsider’s Guide
Joe Dekkers-Reihana – Coriolanus
Sam Hallahan – Joseph K 

Emerging Artist Trust Wellington/ Whitireria Performing Arts
Most Promising Female Newcomer
Chelsea Bognuda – Midnight in Moscow
Hayley Sproull –  Outsider’s Guide
Neenah Dekkers-Reihana – Affinity

The George Webby Most Promising Director
sponsored by Toi Whakaari: New Zealand Drama School and Victoria University of Wellington
Hannah Smith – The Road That Wasn’t There

Jarod Rawiri – Neang Neak’s Legacy
Uther Dean – Joseph K

The Peter Harcourt Outstanding New Playwright
sponsored by Bats Theatre and Taki Rua Productions
Renee Lyons – Nick: An Accidental Hero
Sarita Keo Kossamak So – Neang Neak’s Legacy
Uther Dean – A Play About Space

Grouse Lighting
Lighting Designer
Marcus McShane – Broken River

Nick Zwart – Joseph K
Nigel Percy – Duck, Death and the Tulip

Weta Workshop Set Designer
Andrew Foster – Red

Chris Reddington & Nick Zwart – Broken River
Meg Rollandi – Joseph K

The Paul Jenden Costume Designer
Sponsored by Chapman Tripp
Gillie Coxill – Midnight in Moscow
Kasia Pol – Sydney Bridge Upside Down
Sheila Horton – No Naughty Bits

Park Road Post Production Sound Designer 
Barney Olson – Light Sleepers’ Wake
Tane Upjohn-Beatson – Broken River
Te Aihe Butler – Affinity

Mayor’s Award for Significant Contribution to Theatre
The Founders of Playmarket: Robert Lord, Nonnita Rees, Judy Russell, Ian Fraser

Outstanding Composer of Music (private sponsor)
Andrew McMillan – The Magic Chicken
Gareth Farr – Duck, Death and the Tulip
Tane Upjohn-Beatson – Joseph K

Absolutely Positively Most Original Production of the Year
A Play About Space – my accomplice
Squidboy – Theatre Beating
Whistle Solo – 99 Luftballons

Playmarket and Capital E – National Theatre for Children
Outstanding New New Zealand Play
Midnight in Moscow – Dean Parker
The Road That Wasn’t There – Ralph McCubbin Howell
Whistle Solo – Julie Hill

Chapman Tripp Supporting Actor of the Year 
Aaron Cortesi – Sydney Bridge Upside Down

Ray Henwood – The Price
Stephen Papps – No Naughty Bits

Chapman Tripp Award for Supporting Actress of the Year
Emma Kinane – Tribes
Jessica Robinson – Midnight in Moscow
Nancy Brunning – Neang Neak’s Legacy

Seven nominees for these three categories:
Barney Duncan – Whistle Solo
John Bach – Red
Kate Prior – Midsummer – A Play With Songs
Paul Waggott – Tribes

The Richard Campion Award for Accolade for an Outstanding Performance sponsored by Chapman Tripp
Renee Lyons – Nick: An Accidental Hero

Brancott Estate Actress of the Year
Erin Banks – Tribes
Grant Tilly Actor of the Year sponsored by The ProActors and eCaster

Byron Coll – Midsummer – A Play With Songs

Museum Hotel Award for
Director of the Year
Andrew Foster – Red
Geoff Pinfield – The Magic Chicken
Lyndee-Jane Rutherford –  Midsummer – A Play With Songs

Chapman Tripp Award for
Production of the Year 
Midsummer – A Play With Songs – Circa Theatre
The Magic Chicken – Theatre Beating Presented by Time Out Theatre
The Road That Wasn’t There – Trick of the Light Theatre

The Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards 2013
A Grand Celebration of Wellington Professional Theatre.

Sunday 15 December, 7pm
Paramount Theatre, 25 Courtenay Place

Chapman Tripp are proud to present their annual ceremony in honour of theatrical excellence and creativity – The Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards, 7pm Sunday 15th December at Paramount Theatre. 

This nomination list is the work of a panel of diligent judges from five Wellington publications narrow down the year’s best and brightest theatre shows from over 100 eligible productions to four nominees in each of the 18 award categories. 

Event tickets for the Award Ceremony are $35 and available from Circa Theatre – or 801 7992.

Don’t miss this glittering evening celebrating theatrical excellence in Wellington.

Share on social