November 26, 2014

The Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards 2014  
A Grand Celebration of Wellington Professional Theatre.  

Sunday 14 December, 7pm 
Paramount Theatre, 25 Courtenay Place 

Chapman Tripp are proud to present their annual ceremony in honour of theatrical excellence and creativity – The Chapman Tripp Theatre Awards, 7pm Sunday 14th December at Paramount Theatre.

This nomination list is the work of a panel of diligent judges from five Wellington publications narrow down the year’s best and brightest theatre shows from over 100 eligible productions to (max) four nominees in each of the 18 award categories.

Event tickets for the Award Ceremony are $45 and available from Circa Theatre – or 801 7992.

Don’t miss this glittering evening celebrating theatrical excellence in Wellington.


Nominees are listed alphabetically 

The Critics’ Wildcard
Will be announced on the night.

Circa Award Donated by TACT Most Promising Male Newcomer
Tom Eason – Equivocation
Andrew Paterson – Isaac’s Eye
James Roque – Kiss The Fish 

Emerging Artist Trust Wellington/Chapman Tripp Most Promising Female Newcomer
Neenah Dekkers-Reihana – 4 Billion Likes
Carrie Green – I Could Live Here
Brynley Stent – Revelations

The George Webby Most Promising New Director Toi Whakaari: New Zealand Drama School and Victoria University of Wellington 
Robin Kerr – All Your Wants and Needs Fulfilled Forever
Samuel Phillips – A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Te Kohe Tuhaka – Pūtōrino Hill 

The Peter Harcourt Outstanding New Playwright – Bats Theatre and Taki Rua Productions 
Sam Brooks – Riding In Cars With Mostly Straight Boys
Lori Leigh – Revelations
Chris Molloy – Putorino Hill

Grouse Lighting Award for Lighting Designer
Jennifer Lal – Equivocation
Rowan McShane – A Play About Fear
Marcus McShane – Constellations 

Weta Workshop Set Designer 
Meg Rollandi – Watch
Sam Trubridge – All Your Wants and Needs Fulfilled Forever
Theo Wijnsma – Grandad’s Lucky Storm 

Paul Jenden Award for Costume Designer sponsored by Chapman Tripp
Sheila Horton – Pasefika
Donna Jefferis – Equivocation
John Verryt – Kiss The Fish

Park Rd Post Sound Designer 
Matt Eller – Equivocation
Gareth Hobbs – All Your Wants and Needs Fulfilled Forever
Tane Upjohn-Beatson – Watch 

Constance Scott Kirkcaldie Composer of Music  
Gareth Hobbs – All Your Wants and Needs Fulfilled Forever
Tane Upjohn-Beatson – Constellations  
David Ward – Kiss The Fish

Absolutely Positively Most Original Production of the Year 
The Bookbinder – Trick of the Light
Dinner with Izzy and Simon – Isobel MacKinnon and Simon Haren
The Pianist – Thomas Monckton and Circo Aerero with Show Pony

Playmarket/ Capital E-National Theatre for Children Outstanding New New Zealand Play 
The Bookbinder – Ralph McCubbin Howell
Everything Is Surrounded by Water – Uther Dean & Hannah Banks
Kiss The Fish – Jacob Rajan and Justin Lewis
Once We Built a Tower – Dean Parker

Award for Supporting Actor of the Year – Brancott Estate
Calum Gittins – Riding In Cars With Mostly Straight Boys
Alex Greig – A View From the Bridge
Paul McLaughlin – Equivocation 

Award for Supporting Actress of the Year – Chapman Tripp
Victoria Abbott – All Your Wants and Needs Fulfilled Forever
Julia Croft – Kiss The Fish
Kim Garrett – Putorino Hill 

The Richard Campion Accolade for Outstanding Performance – Chapman Tripp
The Dorothy McKegg Actress of the Year – Chapman Tripp 
The Grant Tilly Actor of the Year – The ProActors and eCaster

Erin Banks – Constellations
Hannah Banks – Watch
Richard Dey – Constellations
Jude Gibson – A View From the Bridge
Guy Langford – Pitmen Painters
Jacob Rajan – Kiss The Fish
Gavin Rutherford – A View From the Bridge

New Zealand Festival Director of the Year
Peter Hambleton – Equivocation
Rachel Lenart – Constellations
Paul McLaughlin – Isaac’s Eye 

Chapman Tripp Award for Production of the Year
Constellations – Circa Theatre
Equivocation – Circa Theatre
Watch – BATS and My Accomplice in association with Goldthorpe Creative


Share on social