December 24, 2015


From Jamie Bowen to Justine Smith to Funny Girls, the NZ Comedy Guild Awards sent the year off in style (and a dash of gold) last Sunday.  

Held at the Classic, the awards were hosted by long-standing Best MC Nick Rado and featured a plethora of talent from across the country. All awards were nominated and chosen by the community, excepting the President’s Medal, which is chosen by the Guild board itself.

With a potluck dinner to kick the night off, highlights included misuse of social media by Brendhan Lovegrove, Paul Douglas having far too much stage time and guild president Vaughan King’s video from Wellington. The Guild was pleased to feel the community behind them and a clarification of their role moving forward.

The winners of the NZ Comedy Guild Awards are as follows:

Best Male Comedian … Brendhan Lovegrove

Best Female Comedian … Justine Smith

NZ Comedy Guild President’s Medal … Ziggy Ziya (San Fran, Wellington)

Outstanding Contribution To The Industry … Vaughan King (comedian and owner of VKs in Wellington)

The Green Roomer … David Correos

‘The Classic’ Best Comedy Venue … VKs (Wellington)

Best International Guest … John Bishop

Comic Originality … David Correos

Best Writer (Live Performance) … Jamie Bowen

Best Improv Show … Snort

Best Live Show … Jamie Bowen – Head Goes Bang

Best Newcomer … Angella Dravid

Breakthrough Comedian Of The Year … Laura Daniel & Paul Douglas (tied)

Best MC … Justine Smith

Gag Of The Year … Paul Douglas – Piha Beach

The Andrew Kovacevich Memorial Cup For Most Offensive Gag … Nathan Winter

The Kevin Smith Memorial Cup For Outstanding Artist Achievement … Guy Montgomery & Tim Batt

Best Comedy Writing For Film Or TelevisionFunny Girls Team

Best Comedy Performance On Television … Jarred Fell – NZ Comedy Gala

Best Comedy TV Series Or EventFunny Girls

Best Comedy Web Series, Podcast Or Radio Series … Guy Montgomery & Tim Batt – Worst Idea of All Time

Funniest Twitterer … Sanjay Patel

Funniest Blog/Column … Michele A’Court

For a full list of nominees please see below.

The NZ Comedy Guild wants to congratulate all the winners, nominees and community at large on a fantastic year.

Share on social