November 23, 2016


Annual celebration of Dunedin Theatre returns 

On Monday 5 December 2016, the Dunedin Theatre Reviewers’ Collective shall host the 7th Annual Dunedin Theatre Awards. These awards were created to celebrate the achievements of the Dunedin theatre community, to acknowledge excellence in theatre performance in Dunedin, and to encourage diverse and continued participation in Dunedin theatre. The generous support of donors, including Otago Community Trust, has ensured that this year’s celebration will be a fitting tribute to the hard work and talent of so many. 

This year’s Awards ceremony will be held at Fortune Theatre. The gala evening begins with a social event at 6pm, followed by the Awards ceremony from 6:30pm. The ceremony will once again be compered by the fantastic Barry Dorking, who delighted the audience with his superb commentary last year. Awards will be presented by the esteemed Louise Petherbridge QSO, who was honoured by the Dunedin Theatre Awards in 2012 with the title ‘Living Taonga’. As our ‘Living Taonga’ Louise continues to be an inspiration to many in the Dunedin theatre community. 

The Awards promise to be a glamorous celebration of Dunedin theatre in 2016. Finalists have been announced, and indicate the depth of diversity that Dunedin theatre-goers enjoy. Several Special Awards recognising Outstanding Contributions to Dunedin and New Zealand theatre will be announced on the night.  

All are very welcome to attend the Awards ceremony, with door sales available from 5pm, for $5.

WHAT: 7th Annual Dunedin Theatre Awards 
WHEN: Monday 5 December, 6pm
WHERE: Fortune Theatre, Dunedin 

Dunedin Theatre Awards 2016 Finalists

(in alphabetical order)

Outstanding Lighting Design:
Damon Lillis – The Cripple of Inishmaan
Marcus McShane – The Devil’s Half Acre
Martyn Roberts – Dark Matter
Martyn Roberts – Wai=Rua A Line=Near

Outstanding Use of Digital Technologies:
Discharge – Discharge Does History webseries
Grounded – AV Design
The Skriker – Facebook promotion

Outstanding Costume Design:
Rochelle Brophy – Circus Alice
Charmian Smith – Mary Stuart
Sofie Welvaert – The Skriker
Maryanne Wright-Smith – Flagons and Foxtrots 

Outstanding Set Design:
GloryBox Collective – The Dream Collector  
Peter King – Flagons and Foxtrots
Peter King – Krapp’s Last Tape
Peter King – Winston’s Birthday
Keith Scott – Mary Stuart
Trick of the Light – The Devil’s Half Acre 

Outstanding Script/Narrative:
Paul Baker – Winston’s Birthday
Rosie Howells – The Most Wonderful Time of the Year
Ralph McCubbin Howell – The Devil’s Half Acre
Keith Scott – Mary Stuart
Pete Stewart – The Iris Project 

Outstanding Ensemble:
The Emperor’s New Clothes – cast
Niu Sila – cast
Over the River – cast
Queen – cast 
The Skriker – cast

Outstanding Performance in a Male Role:
Damon Lillis – The Cripple of Inishmaan
Simon O’Connor – Krapp’s Last Tape
Matthew Scadden – The Importance of Being Earnest
Ashley Stewart – Mary Stuart
Edwin Wright – Manifesto 2083

Outstanding Performance in a Female Role:
Claire Chitham – Grounded
Maria Colombo – Tiny Deaths
Helen Fearnley – Mary Stuart
Hilary Halba – Winston’s Birthday

Outstanding Innovation:
A Sanctimonious Celebration of Drag and S&M
Circus Alice
Enter the New World
The Skriker
Slutty Ladies Garden party
Two Zones Please
Wai=Rua A Line=Near

Emerging Talent:
Emma Feather Shaw
Jocelyn Fa’alavelave
Jordan Dickson
Little Scorpion Productions
Marea Colombo
Simla Productions and the cast of Seacliff: the Demise of Ward 5

Production of the Year:
Grounded – Fortune Theatre
Krapp’s Last Tape – Fortune Theatre
Mary Stuart – Globe Theatre
The Skriker – Little Scorpion Productions

Director of the Year:
Lewis Ablett-Kerr – The Cripple of Inishmaan
Jonathan Cweorth – Circus Alice
Jonathon Hendry – Grounded
Kerry Lane – The Skriker
Lara Macgregor – Winston’s Birthday
Keith Scott – Mary Stuart

Several Special Awards will be announced at the ceremony.

Congratulations to all the Finalists!

About Dunedin Theatre Awards 2016

This year’s Awards follow in the footsteps of last year’s glam affair! BUT we need your help! Show your early support for Dunedin Theatre makers, and make sure you can get a ticket, by pledging your donation now!

You know it will be THE event you want to be at, and the beautiful Fortune Theatre is this year’s equally glam venue! So share the dosh, and share the celebration. We need your support to ensure that the Awards continue to be a Very Grownup Affair.

Please follow Dunedin Theatre Awards on facebook, and ‘attend’ the event, for updates, news and photos.

The Dunedin Theatre Awards welcome everyone to the ceremony event on Monday 5 December, from 6pm at the Fortune Theatre. $5 door sales (cash only).

Share on social