November 23, 2016


The Wellington Theatre Awards are proud to celebrate 2016’s exciting, engaging and highly entertaining year of professional theatre in the cultural capital with a jubilant award ceremony at Te Whaea Theatre, Sunday 11th December.

We hope you will all join us for our theatrical arts industry Christmas Party – a chance to come together, celebrate excellence, and another stellar year of creativity.

The Wellington Theatre Awards 2016
6.30pm, Sunday 11th December
Te Whaea, 11 Hutchison Road, Newtown
Event tickets are $35 (plus fees) and include light refreshments and nibbles.


Ten industry professionals choose these nominees for the 19 award categories. ‘Mayor’s’ and ‘Wildcard’ Awards will be announced at the award ceremony.

Our 2016 nominees are: (in alphabetical order)

Best Male Newcomer

Patrick Carroll, Layman

Tom Clarke, The Devil’s Half-Acre

Andrew Gunn, Potato Stamp Megalomaniac

Best Female Newcomer

Susie Berry, Jekyll and Hyde

Keagan Carr Fransch, Love and Information

Vanessa Kumar, The Elephant Thief

Promising New Director  

Rose Kirkup, Versions of Allah

Fran Olds and Luke Hanna, The Fence

Stella Reid, Orphans

Best New Playwright

Emily Duncan, Hold Me

Carrie Green, Man Parts

Andrew Gunn, Potato Stamp Megalomaniac

Ben Wilson, Fred is Cold

Best Lighting Designer

Natalia Gwiazdzinski, The Vultures

Rachel Marlow, Dust Pilgrim

Marcus McShane, The Devil’s Half-Acre

Best Set Designer

Andrew Foster, Te Pō

Meg Rollandi, The Devil’s Half-Acre

Poppy Serano, Dust Pilgrim

Costume Designer

Harriet Denby, Far Away

Ian Harman, La Casa Azul

Sopheak Seng, The Vultures

Best Sound Designer

Oliver Devlin, The Seven Sons of Supparath

Thomas Press, Dust Pilgrim

Jason Wright, The Fence

Best Composer of Music

Hayley Sproull, Vanilla Miraka

Tane Upjohn-Beatson, The Devil’s Half -Acre

Jason Wright, Shu’s Song

Most Original Production

A Trial – Barbarian Productions and Binge Culture Collective

If There’s not Dancing at the Revolution, I’m Not Coming – The Town Centre / Julia Croft

The Woman Who Forgot – Storybox

Titled – The Town Centre / Nisha Madhan

Best New NZ Play

Kip Chapman, Todd Emerson and Sophie Roberts, Hudson and Halls Live

Mīria George, The Vultures

Rob Mokaraka, Shot Bro

Best Supporting Actor

Tola Newbery, The Vultures

Andrew Paterson, Orphans

Gavin Rutherford, La Casa Azul

Best Supporting Actress

Awhina Rose-Ashby, The Vultures

Amy Tarleton, The ACB of Honora Lee

Anya Tate-Manning, Hudson and Halls Live

Best Actor/Best Actress/Outstanding Performance

Julia Croft, If there’s not Dancing at the Revolution, I’m not Coming

Rachel Henry, Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike

KC Kelly, Orphans

Kali Kopae, La Casa Azul

Rob Mokaraka, Shot Bro

Chris Parker, Hudson and Halls Live

Hayley Sproull, Vanilla Miraka

Best Director

Kip Chapman, Hudson and Halls Live

Erina Daniels, Shot Bro

Stella Reid, Orphans

Best Production

Hudson and Halls Live – Silo Theatre

Rukahu – Not Even Productions

Te Pō – Theatre Stampede and Nightsong Productions

The Theatre Awards Trust would like to acknowledge our generous sponsors:
Wellington City Council, The Performing Arts Foundation of Wellington,
BATS Theatre, Capital E, Circa Theatre, Emerging Artists Trust,
Park Road Post, Playmarket, Sileni Estates, Taki Rua Productions, The Dominion Post, Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School, Weta Workshop, Victoria University of Wellington.

Share on social