December 6, 2016



The Auckland Theatre Awards celebrated their 8th anniversary last night, which included awarding both the Peoples Choice awards and the formally-judged Excellence Awards. These awards were decided on by a panel of four, who were confidential until the event last night. In 2016, the judging panel included former Metro editor Simon Wilson, producer Angela Green, The Pantograph Punch founding editor, Rosabel Tan, and actor and director Jason Te Kare. 

Actress Jennifer Ward-Lealand presented the formal Excellence Awards. Key sponsors of the event included Q Theatre, Basement Theatre, Silo Theatre, Auckland Theatre Company, Auckland Live, Entertainment Accounting Services and The Auckland Arts Festival, as well as additional sponsors Delmaine Fine Foods, Abe’s Bagels and the People’s Choice Awards sponsors as listed further below.  SWPR were a key sponsor for this year’s SWPR Best Newcomer Awards.

The People’s Choice Awards was judged by public survey and received over 250 nominations.

The evening, held at the Wintergarden in the Civic, was attended by 350 members of the Auckland Theatre community, including well-known faces Antonia Prebble, and Jennifer Ward-Lealand.  Actor and comedian Kura Forrester hosted the event, which included skits, songs and students from the Actors Program and Unitec.

The winners of the 2016 Auckland Theatre Awards are as follows:

The Lifetime Achievement Award

Excellence Awards

The winner of an excellence award for acting –
MORGANA O’REILLY, for her performance as Vanda Jordan in the Auckland Theatre Company production of Venus in Fur, presented in the Herald Theatre.

The winner of an excellence award for overall production –
TE PŌ, produced by Theatre Stampede & Nightsong Productions & Auckland Arts Festival & the New Zealand Festival, and presented at Q Theatre.

The winner of an excellence award in direction –
ANAPELA POLATAIVAO, for her direction of the F.C.C production of Wild Dogs Under My Skirt, presented at Mangere Arts Centre.

The winner of an excellence award for overall production –
POTATO STAMP MEGALOMANIAC, produced by Pressure Point Collective and presented at The Basement Theatre.

The winner of an excellence award for acting –
JENNIFER LUDLAM, for her performance as Arthur in the Silo Theatre production of Boys Will Be Boys, presented at Q Theatre.

The winner of an excellence award for overall production –
THAT BLOODY WOMAN, produced by Auckland Theatre Company in association with The Court Theatre & The Christchurch Arts Festival and presented at Sky City Theatre.

The winner of an excellence award in design –
ANDREW FOSTER, for his set designs for Te Pō, To Kill a Mockingbird, Defending the J.J. Mac, Thomus & Vernon God Little, presented at Q Theatre, The Civic Theatre and The Basement Theatre.

The winner of an excellence award for overall production –
THE WHITE GUITAR, produced by The Conch in association with the Christchurch Arts Festival, and presented at Q Theatre by Tour-Makers.

The winner of an excellence award in entrepreneurial achievement –
LESTER MCGRATH, for his leadership as general manager of Auckland Theatre Company in the creation of the ASB Waterfront Theatre.

The winner of an excellence award for overall production –
DON JUAN, produced by A Slightly Isolated Dog and presented as part of the Matchbox Season at Q Theatre.

SWPR Best Newcomer Awards

Nicky Vella – Producer

Natasha Hoyland – Stage Manager & Producer

Tim Earl – Actor

People’s Choice Awards

The HACKMAN Cup for Most Original Production…
Valerie – Last Tapes Theatre Company

Mangere Arts Centre Award for Best Ensemble…
Don Juan – A Slightly Isolated Dog

The Auckland Actors Award for Best Death…
Lucy Suttor in Close City

The Elephant Publicity Award for Best Poster…
Mia Blonde in “Ice Dagger”, Dynamotion

The Gail Cowan Award for Best Viral Marketing Campaign…
Nic Sampson Has Fallen Down a Well (Cancelled show)

The TAPAC Award for Best Entrance…
Stephen Butterworth, Twelfth Night

The Equity New Zealand Award for Best Show by Emerging Artists…
Macbeth – Black Friars

The Playmarket Award for Best line in a Kiwi Play…
“I’ve put my back out at the gym” “Lifting weights?” “No ribbon work’ – Camping

The Johnson & Laird Management Award for Best Accent…
The Michaels, Billys & Debbies of Billy Elliott

The APRA Award for Best Music/Sound Design…
Te Aihe Butler for White/Other

The Inside Out Productions Award for Most Innovative Set…

The Action Actors Award Best Portrayal of a Real Job…
Jennifer Ludlam in Boys will be Boys

The Actors Program Award for Best Nudity…
Sam Snedden in Perplex

The Sharu Loves Hats Award for Best Pash…
Milky Bits cast & Laptops

The Pantograph Punch Award for Best Critic…
Sam Brooks

The Tour-Makers Award for Travelling Hero…
Riding in Cars with (Mostly Straight) Boys

The Philips Selecon Award for Best Lighting:
Rachel Marlow for Boys will be Boys  

[For all nominations, click here.]

Share on social