September 3, 2019


Submissions are now open for the 2020 Adam NZ Play Award. Awards may be given in the following categories:

  • Best Play
  • Best Play by a Māori Playwright
  • Best Play by a Pasifika Playwright
  • Best Play by a Woman Playwright

Plays must not have had a professional production (pending productions, readings, workshops or community productions are fine). Scripts may only be submitted to this competition once. There are no limits on length, style, theme or cast size.  You may submit as many as you like. The competition is open to any New Zealand citizen/permanent resident.

We are very grateful for the generosity of the Adam Foundation who enable us to offer a total of $8,000 in prizes. All plays which make the shortlist will be eligible for distribution to potential producers.


Alongside the Adam NZ Play Award, submissions from South Island residents may also be considered for the McNaughton South Island Play Award, which has a prize of $2,000.

This prize has been established by Dr. Christina Stachurski, in memory of Professor Howard McNaughton, 1945–2014. Professor McNaughton taught drama throughout his 38-year career at the University of Canterbury. He was recognised as a leading expert on New Zealand theatre, and he also published widely on post-colonial theatre.

To be eligible, playwrights must have been resident in the South Island for at least 5 years at the time of submitting. Playwrights who were born in the South Island but are no longer resident, or who have been resident in the South Island in the past will not be eligible. 

Visit HERE for more information
Applications close 1 December 2019 

Share on social