December 16, 2022

The Wellington Theatre Awards 2022 – Ngā Whakarākei O Whātaitai  


The Wellington Theatre Awards 2022 – Ngā Whakarākei O Whātaitai – recognise the actors, designers, technicians, managers, writers, composers and directors that create and produce theatre in Wellington.

After another challenging year for the Poneke Theatre sector, The Wellington Theatre Awards invited people to come together, connect and celebrate the amazing theatre that has been presented in Wellington over the last year – at The Hannah Playhouse on Sunday 11th December for the Wellington theatre arts industry event of the year!

Shows and performances that were performed from December 2021-November 2022 were eligible for additional community awards – nominated by the theatre industry.

Proudly funded by Wellington City Council, BATS Theatre, Taki Rua Productions, Circa Theatre and Playmarket.


George Webby Most Promising Newcomer: Bjorn Aslund (ROXY, Sublime Interludes, The Everchanging Boy, An Honest Conversation)
Willem Wassenaar Most Promising Newcomer: Reon Bell (Wednesday to Come, Flames)
Nominees: Mycah Keall, Dylan Fa’atui, Sarai Perenise-Ropeti, Rebekah de Roo, Alesha Adhar, Fay Van Der Meulen

Lighting Designer of the Year: Brynne Tasker-Poland (Skin Tight, UNDOING)
Nominees: Bekky Boyce, Jane Hakaraia, Rachel Marlow

Production Designer of the Year: Lucas Neal (Skin Tight)
Nominees: Meg Rollandi, Hannah Smith, Sylvie McCreanor, Rose Kirkup, Ralph McCubbin-Howell, Jon Coddington, Danii Kellett

Paul Jenden Costume Designer of the Year: Emma Stevens (ROXY)
Nominees: Sheila Horton, Cara Louise Waretini, Salome Grace and Victoria Gridley

Sound Designer of the Year: Jason Wright (Destination Mars)
Nominees: Eden Mulholland, Emma Maguire, Benny Jennings

Outstanding Composer of Music: Tane Upjohn-Beatson (The Griegol)
Nominees: Oliver Devlin, Te Aihe Butler, Rutene Spooner, Tim Shacklock, Emi Pogoni

The Peter Harcourt New Playwright of the Year: Isaac Martyn (He Māori?)
Nominees: Susan Williams, Adam Rohe, Nī Dekkers-Reihana, Roy Iro, Reon Bell and Sean Dioneda Rivera

New Aotearoa Play Award: Carrie Rudzinski and Olivia Hall (Hysterical)
Nominees: Hone Kouka, Barneie Duncan, Helen Pearse-Otene

Absolutely Positively Most Original Production: First Buzzard at the Body
Nominees: BIGTIMECLOCKS, Loops, Illegaly Blind

Mayoral Award for Outstand Contribution to Theatre: Rangimoana Taylor

Excellence Award for Theatre for Social Change: Te Ahu Taiohi
Nominees: Too Much Hair, The Swing, Illegally Blind

Excellence Award for Ensemble: The Swing
Nominees: ROXY, Too Much Hair,The Tiwhas 

Excellence Award for Choreography: Skin Tight

Excellence Awards for Innovative Contribution to the Industry and/or Community: DAFT: Disabled Artist’s Festival of Theatre
Performing Arts of Young People Aotearoa
Fresh off the Page 

Grant Tilly Actor of the Year: Rutene Spooner (Thoroughly Modern Maui)
Dorothy McKegg Actor of the Year: Miriama McDowell (The Wasp)
The Campion Accolade for Outstanding Performance: Jthan Morgan (The Mermaid, The Tiwhas, Too Much Hair, Pinocchio)
The Michelle Amas Accolade for Outstanding Performance: Ella Gilbert (Skin Tight)
Nominees: Hannah Lynch, Bree Peters, Arlo Gibson, Sameena Zehra, Grace Hoete, Barnie Duncan, Susan Williams, Ross McCormack

Director of the Year: Hannah Smith (The Griegol)
Nominees: Malia Johnstone, Erina Daniels, Sabrina Martin

Production of the Year: The Griegol
Nominees: Owls Do Cry, The Swing, Skin Tight

Community Awards
Heart of Gold Awards: Sepelini Mua’au, Hannah Kelly, Nī Dekkers-Reihana, Austin Harrison, Aimee Sullivan
Save the Day Award: Tony Black
Community Arts Mahi Award: Voice Arts
Big Mentor Energy Award: Deb McGuire
Front of House Superstar Award: Harish Purohit
Voice of Reason Award: Sam Brooks
The Newsies Award: Simon Howard

Share on social