December 11, 2023

Ngā Whakarākei O Whātaitai presents the 32nd Annual Wellington Theatre Awards of 2023
Sunday 10th December | 7:30pm | Hannah Playhouse

​Hosted by Jthan Morgan and Natasha McAllister

​Guest Presenters included Jacob Rajan and Jo Randerson

Mihi Whakatau by Toni Huata and Tanemahuta Gray

Mayoral Award Presented by the Right Honourable Mayor of Wellington, Tory Whanau and Dr. Kerryn Palmer

2023 Wellington Theatre Awards Winners

The Willem Wassenar Most Promising Newcomer

Finley Hughes – The Haka Party Incident

The George Webby Most Promising Newcomer


Lighting Designer of the Year

Isadora Lao – The Coven on Grey Street, O Le Pepelo, Le Gaio Ma Le Pala’ai, ARAWHATA

​Sound Designer of the Year

Oliver Devlin – Whole New Woman

Outstanding Composer of Music

Freya Daly Sadgrove, Oliver Devlin, Samuel Austin, Ingrid Saker and Thomas Friggens – Whole New Woman

Set Designer of the Year

Dan Williams – Public Service Announcements: Election 2023

Paul Jenden Costume Designer of the Year

Meg Rollandi – The Importance of Being Earnest

The Peter Harcourt New Playwright

Freya Daly Sadgrove – Whole New Woman

New Aotearoa Play

Katie Wolfe – The Haka Party Incident

The Absolutely Most Original Production

One Night Band

Excellence Award for Ensemble


​The Dorothy McKegg Actor of the Year

Julie Edwards – The Sun and the Wind

​The Grant Tilly Performer of the Year

Erina Daniels – ONO

The Campion Accolade for Outstanding Performance

Nī Dekkers-Reihana – The Haka Party Incident

The Michele Amas Accolade for Outstanding Performance

Isobel MacKinnon – The Importance of Being Earnest

Director of the Year

Katie Wolfe – The Haka Party Incident 

Production of the Year

The Haka Party Incident

Mayoral Award for Significant Contribution to Theatre

Professor David O’Donnell

Community Award Winners

The Kate Sheppard Grindset Award

Maeve O’Connell

The Guardians of the Future

Save VUW Theatre – Kerryn Palmer, James Wenley, Sarah Thomasson, Lucas Neal, David O’Donnell, Paul Tozer, Rebekah De Roo and Katie Hill

A Leading Light of Accessible Theatre

Jo Marsh

Rangatahi Award for the Next Generation of Excellence

Wellington Young Actors Group

The Theatre Style Icon Award

Colleen McColl

See all nominations here.

Share on social


Make a comment